Improving Relations with Someone Special

By: Ron Petrie

As we go through life, and we are in a long-term relationship, we tend to forget the little things that made the relationship with that someone special.

We take for granted the things they do for us, and we forget to do the things that make them happy or satisfied that life is good.

We know that Men and Women are different (Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus by John Gray) * In addition to the valuable insights that book can give you, there is another book that will add another dimension to your perspective – The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman.

You can go “on-line” to that title and take the test that will lead you to understand the order of your partners Love Languages and the order of yours.

The Five Love Languages are:

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Quality Time
  3. Receiving Gifts
  4. Acts of Service
  5. Physical Touch

It is important to know each other’s numbers and their priority, 1, 2, 3, etc., because you may not be addressing their needs and they may not be addressing yours.

For instance: Let’s say your Wife’s #1 Love Language is Receiving Gifts, but your #5 Love Language is Receiving Gifts. Without being aware of it, you never gave her a gift (there are all kinds).

Let’s say your #1 Love Language is Physical Touch and her #5 Love Language is Physical Touch. She may not perceive the need to hold hands, hug, or kiss, etc.

Awareness of each other’s Love Languages can help to meet each other’s needs, and keep a relationship healthy.

Try it!  You’ll like it!

* Read this book together for a better understanding of each other.